Week one: We begin at the very beginning

After my initial panic over needing to create a blog (!) and complete uncertainty as to what to do for said blog (!) I decided to take a deep breath and relax. So I don’t have anything that translates super-well into a blog. So my passions, which are largely tangible ones, are not sufficiently advanced or pretty enough to merit a blog. So what? This is what I have, and this is what I will use. I will use this space as a record of my crafting, and as a way of re-examining my various efforts (cooking, crafting, gardening) through the lens of design.

I realize that there is a certain amount of irony extolling the virtues of handmade tactile articles on a website, but it works just fine for Our Lady of Home-Made Martha Stewart so it will work just fine for me. I also realize that there is a certain amount of privilege happening here in that I have the time, funds, and access to material that allows these things to be hobbies rather than necessities of life; I do not intend to address this in any deep or meaningful way, but I did want to acknowledge it, and acknowledge that I am privileged to enjoy my crafts and indeed to be taking this class. (I have been reading Roxane Gay and she has made me think a little harder about things I take for granted.)

Thinking of handmade tactile things, I have a couple of favourite websites that I use for inspiration. If they were books, they would be all wrinkled and thumbprinted and dogeared; as they are websites they remain pristine to the naked eye but the very lightest of analytics would reveal my frequent perusal thereof.

Cooking: http://www.smittenkitchen.com I can’t get enough of Deb Perelman’s recipes, and her commentary makes it feel like having a chat with a good friend. The photography is beautiful and does a great job selling the recipe, even if it’s something that makes me wrinkle my nose at first (I still wrinkle my nose at quinoa).

Knitting: http://knitty.com There is always some pattern to drool over, and I appreciate that they sort both by type of project and by level of difficulty. I haven’t been brave enough to attempt anything beyond tangy, but that’s mostly laziness. Mostly.

Gardening: www.canadiangardening.com This one became a favourite once we moved into a house with a garden, both front and back, and I decided to try my hand at gardening. I hated it when I was a child, probably because it was something I was made to do, but now that I’m an adult and can choose what to do with my time, apparently I like pulling weeds. Who knew?  I’ve mostly been using it as a reference to find out what plants do well in the shade, since we face east/west and get varying amounts of sun, but again the pictures are stunning.

All-round: www.canadianliving.com The site is a little busy, but has recipes that pretty much always turn out and plenty of craft ideas, as well as household tips. I used to have a subscription to the physical magazine (it is dirt-cheap but has a nice layout and doesn’t go overboard on articles so you don’t end up spending too much time on it) but got tired of ripping out recipes. Paperless future, baby!

Leave a Reply

