Busyness: knitting

I have been knitting since I was ten. My grandparents taught me and my brother and sister and cousins to knit (we were all visiting and it was raining). I have improved, gradually, to the point where I can look at a photo of something and know how it was done, read a pattern, and figure out how to substitute various items to get the same result.

I like knitting because it is a (fairly) low effort for a big result. Many of the things I make are gifts and people are generally quite pleased to receive something hand-made (as long as it doesn’t look too hand-made). It is something that I can do on the subway, in a car, on a plane, on a train, while I watch a movie, while I’m hanging out with my daughter while she plays – all very portable and put-down-able. Also it will be a good skill to have in the post-oil apocalypse, just putting that one out there.

A recent favourite project is this little headband:

Headband for a baby, because babies care about this kind of thing

Headband for a baby, because babies care about this kind of thing

This particular pattern is from Baby Knits Made Easy, a very nice pattern book with a variety of projects for the littles. Not only are the patterns easy to follow, the book itself is lovely: lots of white space, nice layout, and great photography. The different pattern groupings are a little weird but that’s what a table of contents/index is for.

Predictably, this was the result.

Predictably, this was the result.

 

Leave a Reply

